Home > Department > Department History

Salisbury Mills Fire Department History


In 1994 the Salisbury Mills Fire Company and the Mountain Lodge Park Fire Company combined alliances and became known as the Salisbury Mills Fire Department. Prior to 1994 both fire companies responded to the same emergency calls and were governed by the same elected Board of Fire Commissioners. Despite that both fire companies had separate Fire Chiefs known today as “Company Chiefs”.


The first Chief of the newly formed department was James E. McCann and in 1999 it was decided that a Department President was needed to run the department meetings and in 2000 James E. McCann became the first Department President and Ed Godoy was the first Department Secretary. 


Today the Salisbury Mills Fire Department operates with one Chief, one Assistant Chief, two Captains, four Lieutenants, two Safety Officers, and one Fire Police Captain

Salisbury Mills Fire Department

2121 St Rte 94

Salisbury Mills, NY 12577

Non Emergency 845-496-3215

Civil Officers

Department President
Peggy Lockwood


Department Secretary

The images on this site are the property of the Salisbury Mills Fire Department or the Department has been granted permission to display them.

Any use of the Salisbury Mills Department Logo and/or these images is strictly prohibited without the prior written consent of the Salisbury Mills Fire Department and/or the Photographer.


Please respect the Copyrights of the those who have made these pages possible.

© 2020 Salisbury Mills Fire Department. Proudly created FM Designs